## **Caucus Committee General Meeting Minutes**



## May 9, 2024 Gorton Center, Grotto Room

**Caucus Committee meeting called to order:** Chris Benes, President of the Lake Forest Caucus, called the meeting of the Lake Forest Caucus Committee to order at 7:03 p.m. A quorum was in attendance. Mr. Benes welcomed everyone to the meeting.

**Approval of minutes:** As the first order of business, Mr. Benes raised the matter of approval of the Committee meeting minutes of April 18, 2024. Mr. Benes asked for comments. There being none, on motion by Marian Pearcy and seconded by Peggy Siebert, the April 18, 2024 minutes were approved by acclamation as presented.

Consideration of Officers for the 2024-2025 Caucus Year: Mr. Benes then turned to the main purpose of the meeting, the Caucus Executive Committee's proposal to hold an Interim Meeting of Caucus members to vote on a proposed slate of Committee members to serve as Caucus officers next year. Mr. Benes said that the proposed candidates and their proposed offices were: Joe Oriti--President, Regina Etherton--Vice president, Fred Brewer—Treasurer, Dale Tauke—Secretary, Jennifer McGregor—Fundraising, Mark Pickett--External Communications and Armando Guzman--Internal Communications

Mr. Benes then opened the meeting to discussion by the Committee members. The members expressed a variety of comments on the holding of a new election and related matters and addressed a number of questions about holding a new election to Mr. Benes and the other Caucus officers present. Mr. Benes and the other officers responded and further explained their reasons for holding a new election. Following this discussion, the Committee members expressed their strong concurrence that the proposed officers were the best candidates for their respective officer positions and that the new election should be held.

The Committee members also engaged in discussion about communication of the new election to Caucus members.

**Adjournment**: There being no further business, Mr. Benes called for a motion to adjourn, which was made by Nathan Kelly, seconded by Stephanie Hadjis and approved by acclamation by the Committee. The meeting adjourned at 8:40 p.m.

Minutes respectfully submitted by Dale Tauke, Secretary